University of Western Australia Chancellor Michael Chaney

Dr Michael Chaney AO CitWA

Chancellor of the University of Western Australia

Dr Michael Chaney graduated with Bachelor of Science and Master of Business Administration degrees from The University of Western Australia in 1972 and 1980 respectively.

He completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School in 1992 and has also been awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Laws from UWA.

After obtaining his science degree, Dr Chaney worked for eight years as a petroleum geologist in Australia and the United States. He joined the Australian Industry Development Corporation in 1980 as a corporate finance executive and became Manager for Western Australia in 1981. He joined Wesfarmers in 1983 as Company Secretary and Administration Manager, became Finance Director in 1984 and was appointed Managing Director in July 1992. He retired from that position in July 2005.

Dr Chaney is Chairman of Wesfarmers Limited and Woodside Petroleum Limited. He is also a Director of the Centre for Independent Studies.

Dr Chaney was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia in 2004 for services to business and the community.

For more than 100 years The University of Western Australia (UWA) has provided world-class education, research and community engagement for the advancement and welfare of society. UWA is committed to contributing significantly to the intellectual, cultural and economic development of the State of Western Australia and the nation. The University has a broad research and teaching profile across a wide range of disciplines. With world-class staff and facilities, UWA students are given the best possible opportunities to pursue their impossible and excel in their fields.

UWA is a community of people who want to explore the unknown, challenge convention and make things happen; people with a burning desire to make the most of their own potential and contribute to the world’s advancement. As WA’s oldest university, UWA aspires to be counted among the top 50 universities in the world by 2050. Its consistently high entry (Australian Tertiary Admission Rank) scores mean UWA’s undergraduate cohort is the most academically talented of any WA university and generally is recognised as being of the highest quality in Australia.

UWA graduates consistently rank as the most employable in WA and are employed at a greater rate than any other university graduates in WA, with UWA graduates consistently exceeding national average starting salaries. The University is internationally recognised and is ranked 87th in the world and first in the State, according to Academic World Ranking of Universities 2015.

The University of Western Australia logo.





To find out more, visit the University of Western Australia website opens-in-a-new-window

The University of Western Australia Senate

The University of Western Australia Act 1911 (WA) gives Senate, as the governing authority of the University, responsibility for the “entire control and management of the affairs and concerns of the University”. As such, the Senate is responsible to the public for the stewardship of the University as an institution of excellence and integrity, and for the custodianship of its future prosperity. It ensures that the University’s policies and procedures are consistent with legal requirements and community expectations.

By harnessing the individual and collective experience and wisdom of its members, and by ensuring that it is well informed on all substantive issues affecting the University, the Senate seeks to help the University identify, resource and meet its goals in the context of a rapidly changing external environment. It exercises a broad overview of the University’s directions, facilitates and assists with the promotion, positioning and resourcing of the University, and regularly monitors its performance. As an integral part of its role it exercises broad control over the University’s mission, strategic directions, and finances; and it ensures proper systems of control, accountability and risk management of all University activities (including commercial activities).

The Senate is also the ultimate legislative authority of the University, with power to enact regulations and by-laws and to recommend changes to the Statutes and the University Act to facilitate the educational and research mission of the University.

To fulfil its responsibilities effectively, the Senate appoints the Vice-Chancellor as its Chief Executive Officer, and works in partnership with the Vice-Chancellor to maximise the University’s capacity and performance, and to ensure its fiscal viability. The Senate delegates operational responsibility for the management of the University to the Vice-Chancellor, and monitors, guides and supports the work of the Vice-Chancellor and Executive.

For more information, refer to the University of Western Australia’s Senate Charter opens-in-a-new-window.

Membership of the University of Western Australia’s Senate is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Dr Michael Chaney AO CitWA – Chancellor (to 2017)
Professor Paul Johnson – Vice-Chancellor

Appointed Members – Governor

Dr Susan Jennifer Selyse Boyd (to 2018)
Dr Lynton Raymond Hayes (to 2020)
Mr Robert John Inverarity CitWA (to 2018)
Mrs Susan Lee Murphy (to 2019)

Co-opted Members – Senate

Mr Frank Cooper AO (to 2016)
Ms Michele Dolin (to 2018)
Dr Penelope Ruth Flett AO (to 2019)

Elected Members

Mr Simon Lee Dawkins – Elected by Convocation (to 2018)
Adjunct Professor Warren Kerr AM – Elected by Convocation (to 2019)
Mr Quang Tao Ly – Elected by Convocation (to 2018)
Ms Hilary Ann Silbert – Elected by Convocation (to 2018)
Winthrop Professor Raymond da Silva Rosa – Academic Staff (to 2019)
Professor Nigel Laing – Academic Staff (to 2018)
Dr James O’Shea – Academic Staff (to 2016)
Associate Professor Cara MacNish – Academic Board (to 2016)
Dr Sato Juniper – Professional Staff (to 2017)
Ms Madelene Mulholland – Undergraduate Student (to 2016)
Mr Julian Coleman – Undergraduate Student (to 2016)
Mr Peter Derbyshire – Postgraduate Student (to 2016)

Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Audit and Risk Committee

Chair – Ms Michele Dolin

Strategic Resources Committee

Chair – Mr Frank Cooper AO

Copyright © 2016 – 2017 The University of Western Australia. Material on this page cannot be reproduced without the specific permission of the University Chancellors Council (UCC) and The University of Western Australia.