University of Southern Queensland Chancellor John Dornbusch

Mr John Dornbusch

Chancellor of the University of Southern Queensland

Mr John Dornbusch has served on the Council of the University of Southern Queensland for seventeen years, twelve years as Chair of Finance and Facilities Committee and eight years as Deputy Chancellor before he was appointed as Chancellor in March 2014.

The Chancellor leads the governing body of the University, the Council. Members of the Council, representing University and community interests, contribute to the overall governance of the University by helping to set strategic directions and develop policy.

Mr Dornbusch is the Founding Chairman of Dornbusch Partners Pty Ltd, a financial and corporate services company based in Toowoomba.  He is also a Foundation Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a graduate of the Harvard Business School. He was previously the Queensland Regional Manager for Macquarie Financial Services, a subsidiary of Macquarie Bank.  Mr Dornbusch has been actively involved in the promotion of freight rail and other regional development projects and chairs several companies involved in such activities.  He has considerable experience in corporate capital raising especially in the infrastructure sector and a long history of community engagement. Mr Dornbusch is also the Chairman of Freight Terminals Pty Ltd, an Australian property developer which specialises in intermodal and bulk rail terminals and freight hubs. Its current project, InterLinkSQ, is situated 13km west of Toowoomba in the Toowoomba Enterprise Hub.

The University of Southern Queensland (USQ) has forged a reputation as one of Australia’s leading providers of on-campus and online (distance) education programs in Australia. With more than 75 percent of students studying via distance or online, USQ’s delivery of external education resources continues to lead the way. The University operates across multiple teaching campuses, including Toowoomba, Springfield and Ipswich in South-East Queensland.

In less than fifty years USQ has become a prominent multi-campus teaching and research institution providing education worldwide. In 2017 USQ will celebrate its 50th anniversary as an educational institution and its 25th anniversary as a university.

USQ’s core values are:

  • Respect
  • Integrity
  • Excellence.

The recently approved USQ Strategic Plan 2016-2020 sets out key theme activities for the period and captures three pillars which form the foundation of the University’s strategies, as follows:

  • Education – USQ successfully blends access with excellence and is a leading university for student experience and graduate outcomes.
  • Research – USQ is internationally recognised for high impact research in our areas of research focus.
  • Enterprise – USQ is a socially responsible and well managed enterprise with a work culture that promotes high performance and is reflective of our values.

University of Southern Queensland logo.


(Financial Review Group, 2015)


(Department of Education, 2015)


(Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) 2015)


(The Good Universities Guide, 2016)

USQ is among a number of Australia’s regional universities to have gained a stronger national voice with the launch of the Regional Universities Network (RUN) in 2012. RUN is a network of six universities (Central Queensland University, Southern Cross University, Federation University Australia, University of New England, University of the Sunshine Coast and the University of Southern Queensland) with a commitment to bring forward policy advice to government, particularly with regard to tertiary education and regional development.

USQ is recognised for its research in agriculture and climate science applications, regional development, and digital literacy and education. Three research institutes (the Australian Digital Futures Institute, the Institute for Agriculture and the Environment, and the Institute for Resilient Regions) focus on the University’s strengths through multi-disciplinary research programs to tackle national and global challenges affecting agriculture, natural resource management, and people living and doing business in regional areas. USQ also has emerging research strengths in the fields of health and biomedicine, engineering and material sciences, astrophysics, comparative law, computational mathematics, environmental and health economics, management and IT systems, creative arts and humanities, and indigenous people and cultures.

To find out more, visit the University of Southern Queensland website opens-in-a-new-window

University of Southern Queensland Council

The Council is the governing body of the University of Southern Queensland and has the following functions-

  • Provision of strategic direction to the University
  • Provision of overall leadership to the University
  • Monitoring implementation of strategy against targets
  • Appointing and monitoring the performance of the Vice-Chancellor
  • Appointment of the University’s staff
  • Management and control of the University’s affairs and property
  • Management and control of the University’s finances

For more information, please refer to the Council’s charter opens-in-a-new-window.

Membership of the University of Southern Queensland’s Council is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Mr John Dornbusch – Chancellor (to 6 March 2019)
Professor Jan Thomas – Vice-Chancellor
Associate Professor Lyn Brodie – Chair of Academic Board

Appointed Members – Ministerial

Dr Carol Cox AM (to 6 October 2017)
Mr George Fox (to 6 October 2017)
Mr Brett Delaney (to 6 October 2017)
Mr Stephen Dixon (to 6 October 2017)
Mr Jim Varghese AM (to 6 October 2017)

Appointed Members – Council

Ms Jan Boys (to 6 October 2017)
Ms Rachel Barlow (to 6 October 2017)
Mr Chris Bazley (to 6 October 2017)

Elected Members

Professor Kevin McDougall – Academic Staff (to 6 October 2017)
Mrs Mary McGilvray – Professional Staff (to 6 October 2017)
Mr Mitchell Haigh – Undergraduate Student (to 13 April 2017)

Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Academic Board

Chair – Associate Professor Lyn Brodie

Audit and Risk Committee

Chair – Mr Brett Delaney

Finance and Facilities Committee

Chair – Mr Chris Bazley

Chancellor’s Committee

Chair – Mr John Dornbusch, Chancellor

Remuneration Sub-Committee

Chair – Mr John Dornbusch, Chancellor

Honorary Awards Committee

Chair – Mr John Dornbusch, Chancellor

Copyright © 2016 – 2017 University of Southern Queensland.

Copyrighted materials contained in this webpage are used under the provisions of the Copyright Act 1968 as amended, or as a result of application to the copyright owner. Any unauthorised use of the materials contained on this page is prohibited. No part of this work may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, communicated or transmitted in any form by any means electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without prior permission.

If you believe copyright work that is available on this page constitutes copyright infringement or a breach of agreed licence or contract please complete the Copyright Infringement Notification Form opens-in-a-new-window. This form is designed for you to provide sufficient information for our investigation and response.