University of Notre Dame Chancellor Peter Prendiville

Mr Peter Prendiville

Chancellor of the University of Notre Dame

Mr Prendiville has been involved with the University of Notre Dame Australia since its inception.  He has been a Governor of the University since 1990, a Trustee of the University for over two decades and a Director of the University since 2005.  Mr Prendiville was appointed Deputy Chancellor on 1 January 2011 and Chancellor in May 2016.

Mr Prendiville is Chairman of Prendiville Group, whose portfolio includes the multi-award winning Sandalford Wines, Norfolk Hotel, Pier 21 Resort, Tradewinds Hotel, Karratha International Hotel, Hotel Rottnest and Cottesloe Beach Hotel.

Mr Prendiville has also been involved in the oil and gas industry and has sat on several public company boards. He currently serves as a Member of the Governing Board of St John of God Health Care.

The University of Notre Dame Australia was founded through an Act of the Parliament of Western Australia in December 1989.  Since its inception, Notre Dame has become a leader in higher education and now boasts over 11,000 students enrolled across its three campuses in Fremantle, Sydney and Broome.

Notre Dame is an Australian university which has embraced both the modern Australian university tradition and the ancient and esteemed traditions of Catholic universities opens-in-a-new-window both in Europe and North America.

It has sought to be a university which specialises in excellence of undergraduate education. Its focus is the education and training of young people for entry to the major professions: medicine, law, teaching, nursing, accounting and finance, physiotherapy, counselling, health sciences and the priesthood.

The University is especially noteworthy for its role as a leader in the great traditional professional disciplines of Health and Education, so long associated with the mission of the Church in Australia. It has also assumed a special role in the education of, and service to, the indigenous people of northern Australia.

To find out more, visit the University of Notre Dame website opens-in-a-new-window

The University of Notre Dame logo


Excellent QILT and Good Universities Guide Results



Highest Level of Student Support and Care


The University of Notre Dame Board of Trustees and Board of Directors

The Board of Trustees are the “custodians of the University” [s.8 of the University of Notre Dame Australia Act 1989 (WA)] responsible for ensuring that the University meets its Objects:

  • The provision of university education within a context of Catholic faith and values; and
  • The provision of an excellent standard of:
    1. Teaching, scholarship and research;
    2. Training for the professions; and
    3. Pastoral care for its students.

The Board of Directors is the “governing body” of the University.

Membership of the University of Notre Dame’s Board of Trustees and Board of Directors is as follows:

Board of Trustees


Professor Celia Hammond – Vice-Chancellor

General Trustees

Sr Annette Cunliffe
Very Rev Mgr Kevin Long
Ref Fr Edward Malloy
Hon Justice Neville Owen
Mr Peter Prendiville – Chancellor
HE David Scarf
Professor Anthony Shannon

Nominee Trustees

Mr Michael Digges
Hon Justice Rovert Mazza
Mr Michael Reutens

Board of Directors

Mr Justin Carroll
Hon Christopher Ellison
Sr Linda Ferrington
Professor Celia Hammond – Vice-Chancellor
Professor Michael L’Estrange
Ms Lousie McCann
Professor Con Michael
Mr Stephen Newton
Mr John Prendiville
Mr Peter Prendiville – Chancellor
Ms Anne Templeman-Jones

Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Board of Governors

Chair – Mr Peter Prendiville, Chancellor

Student Board

Chair – Professor Celia Hammond, Vice-Chancellor

Finance, Audit & Risk Committee

Chair – Mr Justin Carroll

Copyright © 2016 – 2017 The University of Notre Dame Australia.