Mr Allan J. Myers AC QC

Chancellor of the University of Melbourne

Mr Allan Myers is the 22nd Chancellor of the University of Melbourne, appointed on 1 January 2017.

Mr Myers is one of Her Majesty’s Counsel in all Australian States and Territories and is a barrister in England, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea. His practice has been predominantly in commercial law. He is also a leading philanthropist and businessman.

Mr Myers has provided support to many professional and charitable entities. His is currently Chair of the National Gallery of Australia Council, Chair of the Museums and Art Galleries Board of the Northern Territory, a Governor of the Ian Potter Foundation, member of the Council of Newman College, and member of the Graduate Studies Advisory Board of the Law Faculty at the University of Melbourne and of the Law Faculty at Oxford University. He is a director of publicly listed companies in Europe and a director of many private and unlisted companies in Australia and elsewhere.

He was awarded the Centenary Medal in 2001 and, in 2007, became an Officer in the Order of Australia. In 2016, Mr Myers was appointed Companion of the Order of Australia for eminent service to the community through philanthropic leadership in support of major visual arts, higher education, medical research and not-for-profit organisations, to the law, and to professional learning programs. He holds an Honorary Doctor of Laws from the University of Melbourne and an Honorary Doctor of the University from the Australian Catholic University.

Mr Myers is a graduate of the University of Melbourne and Oxford University. He has been closely involved with the University of Melbourne for many years, having taught in the Faculty of Law, and having supported scholarships and facilities. He is chair of the University’s Humanities Foundation Board.

From 2013 to 2016 Mr Myers served as inaugural chair of the Campaign Board for Believe – The Campaign for the University of Melbourne. In 2015 he became the first recipient of the Fellow of the University of Melbourne Award in recognition of his community leadership and significant contributions to this institution.

The University of Melbourne is an internationally-recognised, research-intensive university with a strong tradition of excellence in teaching, research and research training, and community engagement. Established in 1853, in 2013 the University celebrated its 160th anniversary.

Situated in the heart of the world’s most liveable city and within the Parkville precinct, the University of Melbourne is affiliated with more than 120 discipline-specific research centres covering fields as diverse as public policy and Asian law through to medical research focused on diseases such as multiple sclerosis, epilepsy and cancer.

As a foundation member of Universitas 21, the University supports some 250 university and faculty level bilateral agreements with leading higher education institutions around the world to facilitate research collaboration, knowledge sharing and student mobility, and international exchange opportunities for almost 3000 students each year.

The University of Melbourne’s high rankings in independent international surveys reflect its strong research performance, excellence in learning and teaching, and intellectual and social capital. In the prestigious 2018 Times Higher Education rankings of the world’s top 1000 universities, the University ranked number 32 in the world and is consistently named Australia’s number one university across global rankings.

Melbourne offers broad undergraduate degrees and world-leading graduate programs delivered through graduate schools in professional and scholarly disciplines to more than 40,000 students each year.

The University of Melbourne logo.


The University of Melbourne is one of Australia's oldest


The University of Melbourne is ranked number one
in Australia and 32 in the world (Times Higher Education
international rankings).


The University of Melbourne is Australia’s largest research


The University of Melbourne offers one of Australia’s most
generous scholarship programs, including $4.7million in equity
scholarships every year.

From its ground-breaking work towards development of the bionic eye, to the individual research projects of its academics and students, Melbourne is uniquely placed to respond to major social, economic and environmental challenges, enrich an understanding of the world, and grow the store of human knowledge.

To find out more, visit the University of Melbourne website opens-in-a-new-window

University of Melbourne Council

Council is the governing body of the University of Melbourne and has the entire direction and superintendence of the University. Council is appointed pursuant to the University of Melbourne Act 2009 (VIC).

In accordance with the University of Melbourne Act, the primary responsibilities of the Council include:

  1. appointing and monitoring the performance of the Vice-Chancellor and Principal as chief executive officer of the University;
  2. approving the mission and strategic direction of the University and its annual budget and business plan;
  3. overseeing and reviewing the management of the University and its performance;
  4. establishing policy and procedural principles for the operation of the University consistent with legal requirements and community expectations;
  5. approving and monitoring systems of control and accountability of the University, including those required to maintain a general overview of any entity controlled by the University in accordance with section 50AA of the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth);
  6. overseeing and monitoring the assessment and management of risk across the University, including commercial undertakings;
  7. overseeing and monitoring the academic activities of the University; and
  8. approving any significant commercial activities of the University.

For further information, refer to the University of Melbourne’s Charter of Responsibilities for Council Members opens-in-a-new-window.

Membership of the University of Melbourne’s Council is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Allan J. Myers AC QC – Chancellor
Professor Glyn Davis – Vice-Chancellor (to 2018)
Professor Rachel Webster – President of Academic Board (to 31 December 2016)

Appointed Members – Ministerial

Mr Robert Johanson – Deputy Chancellor (to 31 December 2016)

Appointed Members – Governor-in-Council

Mr Anthony Peake (to 31 December 2017)
Ms Jane Hansen (to 31 December 2018)
Ms Wendy Stops (to 31 December 2018)

Appointed Members – Council

Mr Ross McPherson – Deputy Chancellor (to 31 December 2018)
The Hon. Justice John Middleton (to 31 December 2016)
Mr Martyn Myer AO (to 31 December 2016)
Professor Robin Batterham (to 31 December 2017)

Council Fellows

Professor Barry Hughes – Professor (to 31 December 2017)
Dr Frederik Vervaet – Academic Staff other than Professor (to 31 December 2017)
Dr Craig Bird – Professional Staff (to 31 December 2016)
Ms Kara Hadgraft – Postgraduate Student (to 31 December 2016)
Mr Declan McGonigle – Undergraduate Student (to 31 December 2016)

Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Finance Committee

Chair – Ms Elizabeth Alexander AM

Investment Management Committee

Chair – Mr Robert Johanson, Deputy Chancellor

Audit Committee

Chair – Mr Anthony Peake

University Risk Committee

Chair – Ms Wendy Stops

Governance and Nominations Committee

Chair – Ms Elizabeth Alexander AM

Human Resources and Remuneration Committee

Chair – Ms Elizabeth Alexander AM, Chancellor

University of Melbourne Foundation and Trusts Committee

Chair – The Hon. Justice John Middleton

Gift Acceptance and Review Sub-Committee

Chair – The Hon. Justice John Middleton

Infrastructure Committee

Chair – Mr Robert Johanson, Deputy Chancellor

This webpage is copyright © The University of Melbourne 1994 – 2018.