Swinburne University of Technology Chancellor Graham Goldsmith

Mr Graham Goldsmith

Chancellor of Swinburne University of Technology

Mr Graham Goldsmith became the Chancellor of Swinburne University of Technology in August 2014 having served on the Council since 2010.

Mr Goldsmith was a highly-respected figure in the Australian financial services industry. He is an experienced company director and community leader with a deep commitment to education.

Educated at Swinburne Institute of Technology in the 80s, Mr Goldsmith graduated with a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) in 1983. He also completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard University in Boston.

Mr Goldsmith’s career began with National Australia Bank in Melbourne. He joined JBWere & Son in 1987, working in Melbourne and London.  JBWere merged with the Australian operations of Goldman Sachs & Co in 2003. Mr Goldsmith held a number of senior roles, including Chair of the Goldman Sachs Australia Foundation. Mr Goldsmith retired in 2012 as Vice-Chairman and Managing Director of Goldman Sachs Australia. He enjoyed a 25 year career with the firm.

In addition to being Chancellor at Swinburne, Mr Goldsmith is on a number of boards. He is currently a non-executive director of ASX listed companies Djerriwarrh Investments Limited and SEEK Limited.

Mr Goldsmith is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (FAICD). He is also a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia (FFin), and Australian Society of Certified Practicing Accountants (FCPA).

Swinburne University of Technology was granted university status in 1992 after a proud history of providing education through its predecessor institutions. The University, together with its predecessors, have been offering education for over 100 years.

Swinburne is a large and culturally diverse organisation. A desire to innovate and bring about positive change motivates our students and staff. The result is an institution that grows and evolves each year.

The University focuses on preparing its graduates for the real world, building work integrated learning opportunities into many of its courses. Close links with business and industry ensure that the University’s study programs are responsive to the demands of the commercial sector.

Swinburne University of Technology has modern, purpose built facilities for students, opening the Advanced Technologies Centre in 2011 and the Advanced Manufacturing and Design Centre in 2014.

Swinburne also recognises that learning does not always occur in traditional classrooms and has a focus on developing innovative online delivery, including launching Swinburne Online as a joint venture with Seek Limited in 2012.

Swinburne University of Technology offers qualifications ranging from certificates, bachelors and masters to PhDs. Areas of study available at Swinburne include: Arts, Psychology and Social Science, Business, Entrepreneurship and Management, Law, Design and Creative Industries, Engineering, Health and Community Services, Hospitality and Tourism, Information Technology and Computing, Multimedia, Science, Technology and the Environment, English Language, Foundation and Degree Transfer Programs.

Swinburne University of Technology logo


Ranked in 2016 QS Graduate Employability Rankings, based on
graduate employment rates and University/employer partnerships.


Recognised by The Good Universities Guide 2016, with high
ratings for overall satisfaction, generic skills and good teaching.


Many courses offer the opportunity for students to experience
work integrated learning so that they are work ready.


Swinburne is globally engaged with opportunities for students to
travel and study overseas.

Swinburne also has an international reputation for quality research. As a university, we focus on transforming global and local communities by shaping lives and our world through deeper understanding of science, technology and innovation. We know that we can achieve the greatest impact by ensuring that our research efforts are directed towards key areas that are critical to our future. This is why we continue to build our research capacity and engagement with industry, announcing five new institutes that will focus on data science, health innovation, smart cities, social innovation and manufacturing futures.

In 2016, we announced the launch of the Swinburne Innovation Precinct – a front door to research-led innovation and entrepreneurship across the whole university. Centred on mentorship, collaboration and industry partnerships, it brings together people of all backgrounds and capabilities to take on real-world challenges and create solutions. It creates an opportunity for our leading design, manufacturing and digital minds to come together and deliver outcomes that benefit our economy and our communities. Our commitment to high-quality teaching and research is reflected in our rankings in a number of prestigious world academic ranking lists.

To find out more, visit the Swinburne University of Technology’s website www.swinburne.edu.au opens-in-a-new-window

Swinburne University of Technology Council

Council oversees the general direction and superintendence of the University and its powers and functions include:

  • Approving the mission and the strategic direction of the University
  • Overseeing and reviewing the management of the University and its performance
  • Managing the University’s resources
  • Establishing policy and procedural principles, consistent with legal requirements and community expectations
  • Approving and monitoring systems of control and accountability

For more information, please refer to the Council’s charter opens-in-a-new-window.

Membership of Swinburne University of Technology’s Council is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Mr Graham Goldsmith – Chancellor
Professor Linda Kristjanson AO – Vice-Chancellor
Professor Bernadine Van Gramberg – Chair of Academic Senate

Appointed Members – Governor-in-Council

Ms Geraldine Farrell (to 31 December 2018)
Ms Kirsten Mander (to 31 December 2019)
Ms Vi Peterson (to 31 December 2018)

Appointed Members – Ministerial

Ms Renée Roberts (to 31 December 2018)

Appointed Members – Council

Mr Anthony Mackay AM (to 31 December 2017)
Mr Alan Schwartz AM (to 31 December 2019)
Mr Andrew Dix (to 31 December 2018)
Mr David Singleton (to 31 December 2017)

Elected Members

Ms Catherine Rojas – Professional Staff (to 31 December 2019)
Mr Adnan Islam – Undergraduate Student (to 31 December 2017)

Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Academic Senate

Chair – Professor Bernadine Van Gramberg

Audit and Risk Committee

Chair – Mr Andrew Dix

Executive and Remuneration Committee

Chair – Mr Graham Goldsmith, Chancellor

Resources Committee

Chair – Ms Geraldine Farrell

Copyright © 2016 – 2018 Swinburne.