RMIT University Chancellor Ziggy Switkowski

Dr Ziggy Switkowski AO

Chancellor of RMIT University

Dr Switkowski is Chancellor of RMIT University, Chair of NBN Co, Suncorp Group and a Director of listed companies Tabcorp Holdings & Healthscope Ltd.

Dr Switkowski is the former Chairman of the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation and of Opera Australia. He has previously held positions as Chief Executive Officer of Telstra Corporation Limited and Optus Communications Ltd and is a former Chairman and Managing Director of Kodak Australasia Pty Ltd.

He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science,  Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, and of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

In 2014, Dr Switkowski was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in recognition of service to tertiary education administration, scientific organisations and the telecommunications sector, to business and to the arts.

RMIT is a global university of technology, design and enterprise in which teaching, research and engagement are central to achieving positive impact and creating life-changing experiences for its students.

One of Australia’s original educational institutions founded in 1887, RMIT University now has 83,000 students. The University enjoys an international reputation for excellence in professional and vocational education, applied and innovative research, and engagement with the needs of industry and the community.

RMIT offers postgraduate, undergraduate and vocational programs, enabling students to have the option of work-relevant pathways between vocational and higher education qualifications. A range of scholarships is available to support education and research.

With three campuses in Melbourne (City, Brunswick and Bundoora), two in Vietnam (Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City) and a centre in Barcelona, Spain, RMIT is a truly global university.

RMIT also offers programs through partners in Singapore, Hong Kong, mainland China, Indonesia and Sri Lanka, and enjoys research and industry partnerships on every continent. From the design of curriculum to applied research, RMIT works closely with domestic and international industry partners to equip students with the knowledge and state-of the-art skills that enable them to excel in their chosen professions. As a result, RMIT graduates are highly regarded around the world for their leadership skills and work readiness.

RMIT University logo.


RMIT’s City campus is located in the heart of Melbourne’s CBD,
representing 7 per cent of the CBD footprint.


in Engineering, Accounting and Finance, and Business and
Management Studies.


RMIT Vietnam was awarded a Golden Dragon Award from the
Vietnamese Government in 2015 for the 12th consecutive year,
recognising its excellence in education and research.


RMIT has completed several major projects including the
Swanston Academic Building and Design Hub which have
enhanced learning, teaching and research spaces.

RMIT is known for its work-integrated learning opportunities which combine theory with practice in a workplace environment, ensuring that graduates are equipped with the skills and insight that employers value in the ever-changing global economy.

RMIT’s researchers are engaged alongside partners world-wide in solving practical problems of our time. Connections to industry partners, to governments, and to the urban communities within which RMIT operates, are vital.

The quality of the RMIT’s research work has been endorsed by the Australian Research Council. In the 2015 Excellence in Research for Australia evaluation, RMIT was rated “well above world standard” in 13 research fields and “above world standard” in a further nine fields.

RMIT has a 5-Star QS ranking for excellence in higher education and is ranked among the top 15 Australian universities in the 2015–16 QS World University Rankings.

In the latest QS Top 50 Under 50 index, RMIT is 21st in the world among universities less than 50 years (RMIT was granted university status in 1992).

In the 2016 QS subject rankings, RMIT is 16th in the world and the highest ranked Australian university for Art and Design,  36th in the world for Architecture, and among the world’s top 100 universities in Engineering (Civil and Structural; Electrical and Electronic; and Mechanical, Aeronautical and Manufacturing); Accounting and Finance; and Business and Management Studies.

RMIT’s latest capital investment project, the New Academic Street, will transform the heart of the City campus, refurbishing four Swanston Street buildings, opening them to the streetscape, and creating interconnected learning spaces, outdoor terraces and enhanced library facilities.

To find out more, visit the RMIT University website opens-in-a-new-window

RMIT University Council

The Council is the governing authority of the university and is responsible for ‘the direction and superintendence’ of the university as set out in the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology Act 2010 (VIC).

Council members participate in the approval of the university’s strategic direction, annual budget and business plan, monitoring of the university’s performance and appoint the Vice-Chancellor and senior executives.

Membership of RMIT University’s Council is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Dr Ziggy Switkowski AO – Chancellor
Mr Martin Bean CBE – Vice-Chancellor
Professor David Hayward – Chair of Academic Board

Appointed Members – Governor-in-Council

Ms Janet Latchford (to 31 December 2018)
Mr Gary Hogan AM CSC (to 31 December 2018)
Ms Rhonda O’Donnell (to 31 December 2018)

Appointed Members – Ministerial

Ms Judith Bornstein (to 31 December 2019)

Appointed Members – Council

Mr Bruce Akhurst (to 31 December 2018)
Emeritus Professor Stephen Duckett (to 31 December 2019)
Ms Megan Haas (to 31 December 2019)
Ms Anne Ward (to 31 December 2019)

Elected Members

Associate Professor Debra Bateman – Staff (to 31 July 2019)
Ms Abena Dove – Student (to 31 October 2018)

Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Audit and Risk Management

Chair – Ms Megan Haas

Nominations, Remuneration and People

Chair – Ms Janet Latchford

Infrastructure and Information Technology

Chair – Mr Bruce Akhurst

Academic Board

Chair – Professor David Hayward

Copyright © 2016 – 2018 RMIT University.