Queensland University of Technology Chancellor Tim Fairfax

Mr Tim Fairfax AC

Chancellor of Queensland University of Technology

Mr Tim Fairfax AC is a Company Director, Pastoralist and Philanthropist.

Tim is Chairman of the Tim Fairfax Family Foundation and director of the Vincent Fairfax Family Foundation and Australian Philanthropic Services.

He is the current Chancellor at Queensland University of Technology and is President of the Queensland Art Gallery Foundation, Deputy Chairman of the National Gallery of Australia Council and a member of the National Portrait Gallery Foundation.

Tim is Patron of the AMAQ Foundation, the University of the Sunshine Coast Foundation, Volunteers for Isolated Students Education, the Flying Arts Alliance Incorporated and the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation.

Tim takes an active leadership role in promoting philanthropy in Australia.  He is passionate about supporting rural, remote and regional communities, particularly for students from low socioeconomic backgrounds.

Tim has a range of business interests.  He operates nine rural properties in Queensland and New South Wales involving beef cattle, fine wool and grain.

QUT is a highly successful Australian university with an applied emphasis in courses and research. Though based in Brisbane, Queensland, QUT has a global outlook. With over 50,000 students, including 8,000 from overseas, and an annual budget of more than $930 million, QUT is positioned to grow and develop as one of Australia’s leading universities. QUT has three Brisbane campuses, at Gardens Point in the CBD, a near city campus at Kelvin Grove, and a campus at Caboolture which sits between Brisbane and the Sunshine Coast.

QUT is well known as ‘a university for the real world’ because of its close links with industry and its relevant teaching and applied research. Industry representatives and professionals contribute to course development, adding a practical perspective to theoretical education.

QUT has a 160 year history stretching back to the establishment of the Brisbane School of Arts in 1849.  Over the years, QUT has grown and changed, and its predecessor institutions include the Central Technical College, the Brisbane Kindergarten Training College, and Brisbane College of Advanced Education, and Queensland Institute of Technology. In 1989, QUT attained university status and it amalgamated with BCAE from 1990.

To find out more, visit the Queensland University of Technology website www.qut.edu.au opens-in-a-new-window

Queensland University of Technology logo




One of the world’s largest digital interactive learning and display


Queensland University of Technology Council

Council is responsible for the overall governance and management of the University, and manages and controls the University affairs.

Membership of Queensland University of Technology’s Council is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Mr Tim Fairfax AC – Chancellor
Professor Margaret Sheil AO – Vice-Chancellor and President
Professor Carol Dickenson AM – Chair of University Academic Board

Appointed Members – Governor-in-Council

Ms Teresa Handicott
Mr Peter Howes
Professor Mary O’Kane AC
Mrs Jenny Parker
Mr Mario Pennisi
Dr Lee-Anne Perry AM
Dr John Puttick

Appointed Members – Council

Ms Susan Rix AM

Elected Members

Ms Gwen Amankwah-Toa – Professional Staff
Miss Anne-Marie Lacaze – Professional Staff
Dr Kerry Manton – Academic Staff
Professor Paula McDonald – Academic Staff
Dr David Nielsen – Academic Staff
Mr Charles Harris – Student
Mr Lachlan Spedding – Student
Dr Tim Baker – Graduate
Mrs Kerri McConnel – Graduate

Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Alumni Board

Chair – Mrs Kerri McConnel

Audit and Risk Management Committee

Chair – Ms Teresa Handicott

Chancellor’s Committee

Chair – Mr Tim Fairfax AC, Chancellor

Planning and Resources Committee

Chair – Dr John Puttick

University Academic Board

Chair – Professor Carol Dickenson AM

Copyright © 2016 – 2018 Queensland University of Technology.

Unless otherwise noted or marked, copyright material available on this page is “all rights reserved”. Apart from noted or marked exceptions or fair dealing as permitted under the copyright law of your country, and as necessary for the operation of this webpage or online service, no part of this webpage or online service, nor the information contained in it, may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, reprographic or otherwise, without the prior permission of the Queensland University of Technology.

To request copyright permission, email qut.copyright@qut.edu.au opens-in-a-new-window.