Monash University Chancellor Simon McKeon

Mr Simon McKeon AO, BCom LLB HonDPH La Trobe

Chancellor of Monash University

Simon McKeon commenced as Chancellor of Monash University on 1 January 2016.

Simon McKeon is Chairman of In2Science and the Group of Eight’s Industry and Innovation Board.  He is also a member of the Big Issue Advisory Board and an Australia Day Ambassador for the Victorian Government.

He previously served as Chairman of AMP and CSIRO and was Founding President of the Federal Government’s Australian Takeovers Panel, as well as its Point Nepean Community Trust.  Other previous roles include Founding Chairman of MS Research Australia and Business for Millennium Development. He was also Chairman of the Federal Government’s Panel which in 2013 completed a Strategic Review of Health and Medical Research. Simon was also the 2011 Australian of the Year.

In early 2014, Simon retired from Macquarie Group after a 30 year career culminating in his position as Executive Chairman (Melbourne Office).  He continues to be retained by Macquarie as a consultant.

Monash University was established in Melbourne, Australia in 1958.

Monash is a youthful organisation, enthusiastic, optimistic and accessible.  Monash believes quality education and research can change the world for the better.

At Monash University, the desire to make a difference informs everything the University does.

But Monash goes beyond good intentions.  Monash makes an impact, both locally and internationally.  Monash is a global university with a presence on four continents.  And Monash University’s plans for the future are ambitious.


Making a difference takes energy and idealism as well as experience and wisdom.  As a young university, Monash’s outlook is progressive and optimistic.  Monash isn’t mired in cynicism, tradition or convention.

Monash University attracts the best scholars, but the University is not elitist.  Monash opens its doors to anyone who is prepared to work hard to make a difference.

Monash University has seen the good achieved by Monash people in areas like green chemistry, sustainability, and accident and trauma.

Monash University logo.


Undertaking research and education of the highest international
quality that addresses the great challenges of the age.


Building the strength, networks and scale of international
research and education across campuses and faculties.


Building enduring partnerships with industry, government and
organisations to infuse students with enterprising capabilities.


Seeking talented students and staff, irrespective of social or
economic circumstances to build a diverse University.


Monash University has five local campuses throughout Victoria, two international locations in Malaysia and in South Africa, and centres in the People’s Republic of China, Italy and India. Each provides an environment that identifies and nurtures talent – and turns that talent into ability.

Monash University believes the best way to help its people meet the challenges they face is to provide a supportive environment.  Monash champions and supports its students so that they have a memorable university experience.  It’s a friendly university – no matter which campus you attend.


From collaborative research opportunities, to building community relationships, Monash’s focus is always on how it can empower its people to make a positive impact on the world. Things like the bionic eye and the anti-flu drug Relenza.

Shared ambitions move the University forward, faster.  The more relevant, useful and powerful connections Monash can make, the greater its impact will be.

Still learning

Monash University’s motto Ancora Imparo (“I am still learning”) is a reminder that the search for knowledge never ends.  Monash University is fired with a restless ambition that pushes to do things better, to set new benchmarks and to break new ground.

In order for Monash University students and staff to positively impact their communities and the world, the University must equip them and inspire them – so they can be agents of change.


Monash University is a product of a proud history.  If you’d like to find out more about where Monash University has come from, you can find out more about its history opens-in-a-new-window.

To find out more, visit the Monash University website opens-in-a-new-window

Monash University Council

Council is the governing body of Monash University, established by the Monash University Act 2009 (VIC).  It is chaired by the Chancellor, currently Mr Simon McKeon.  The Deputy Chancellors are Mr Yehudi Blacher, Mr Shane Buggle and Dr Christine Nixon.

Council is responsible for the overall superintendence of the University with specific accountability to the relevant State and Commonwealth Ministries for the University’s fulfilment of its role in the Australian community.  It discharges that role by deliberating on strategies and policies to achieve the University’s objects and by ensuring that the University has in place appropriate and effective governance processes.

Membership of Monash University’s Council is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Mr Simon McKeon AO – Chancellor (to 31 December 2020)
Professor Margaret Gardner AO – President and Vice-Chancellor
Professor Chris Davies – President of Academic Board (to 31 December 2019)

Appointed Members – Governor-in-Council

Mr Yehudi Blacher PSM, Deputy Chancellor (to 31 December 2019)
Dr Megan Clark (to 31 December 2018)
Dr Helen Drennen AM (to 31 December 2018)
Ms Julie Ligeti (to 31 December 2020)

Appointed Members – Ministerial

The Hon Simon Crean (to 31 December 2019)

Appointed Members – Council

Mr Shane Buggle – Deputy Chancellor (to 31 December 2018)
Mr Mark Cubit (to 31 December 2019)
Dr Christine Nixon APM – Deputy Chancellor (to 31 December 2020)
Mr John Simpson (31 December 2020)
The Hon Peter Young QC (to 31 December 2019)

Elected Student Member

Mr Ziyang Zhang (to 31 October 2018)

Elected Staff Member

Professor Ross L. Coppel (to 31 October 2018)

Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Executive Committee

Chair – Mr Simon McKeon AO, Chancellor

Membership Committee

Chair – Mr Simon McKeon AO, Chancellor

Estates Committee

Chair – Mr Yehudi Blacher PSM, Deputy Chancellor

Selection & Remuneration Committee

Chair – Mr Simon McKeon AO, Chancellor

Resources & Finance Committee

Chair – Mr Shane Buggle, Deputy Chancellor

Honorary Degrees Committee

Chair – Mr Simon McKeon AO, Chancellor

Audit & Risk Committee

Chair – The Hon. Peter Young QC

Academic Board

Chair – Professor Chris Davies

Copyright © 2016 – 2018 Monash University. ABN 12 377 614 012 Accessibility – Disclaimer and copyright – Privacy opens-in-a-new-window, Monash University CRICOS Provider Number: 00008C, Monash College CRICOS Provider Number: 01857J