Macquarie University Chancellor, the Hon. Miachel Egan AO.

The Hon. Michael Egan AO

Chancellor of Macquarie University

The Hon. Michael Egan AO has been Chancellor of Macquarie University since February 2008. He was Treasurer of New South Wales for a record term from 1995 to 2005. He was also Minister for State Development, Minister for Energy and Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council.

He is currently Chairman of the Centenary Institute of Cancer Medicine and Cell Biology, and Chairman of the Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group Pty Ltd.

A place of inspiration

Macquarie is uniquely located in the heart of Australia’s largest high-tech precinct, a thriving locale that is predicted to double in size in the next 20 years to become the fourth largest CBD in Australia.

Macquarie’s campus spans 126 hectares, with open green space that gives its community the freedom to think and grow. The University is home to world-class facilities, including Australia’s only fully integrated Academic Health Sciences Centre. It also has excellent transport links to the city and suburbs, supported by an on-campus train station.

Renowned for excellence

Founded just over 50 years ago, Macquarie has risen to be a progressive and influential institution both locally and internationally. Macquarie is ranked among the top two per cent of universities in the world, and with a 5-star QS rating, it is renowned for producing graduates that are among the most sought-after professionals in the world.

A proud tradition of discovery

Macquarie’s enviable research efforts – 100 per cent of the University’s research is ranked at world standard or above and more than 100 of its researchers are ranked in the top one per cent of researchers in the world – are brought to life by renowned researchers whose audacious solutions to issues of global significance are benefiting the world.



(Academic Rankings of World Universities, 2014)


in teaching, employability, research, facilities, innovation,
access and specialist subjects.


Invaluable opportunities for learning, networking and career
advancement for staff and students.


Including Microsoft, Optus, Google, Cochlear, EY and Westpac.

Building successful graduates

Macquarie’s pioneering approach to teaching and learning is built around a connected learning community, with its students considered partners and co-creators in their learning experience. Students’ face-to-face experience is paired with sophisticated and interactive digital resources, and their courses are linked to the latest research discoveries.

To find out more, visit the Macquarie University website opens-in-a-new-window

Macquarie University Council

Macquarie University is a statutory authority, created under the Macquarie University Act 1989 (NSW) (as amended). The University Council is the governing body of the University. Under Part 4 of the Act, the Council acts for and on behalf of the University in the manner best calculated to promote the objects and interests of the University.

The University Council comprises 19 members who contribute a blend of commercial, governance, legal, academic, administrative and public sector expertise to the business and operation of the Council. Members are elected or appointed in accordance with the provisions of the Macquarie University Act 1989 (NSW) and the Macquarie University By-Law 2005 (NSW).

Membership of Macquarie University’s Council is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

The Hon. Michael Egan AO – Chancellor (to 28 February 2017)
Professor S Bruce Dowton MD – Vice-Chancellor
Professor Mariella Herberstein – Chair of Academic Senate (to 30 June 2017)

Appointed Members – Ministerial

The Hon. Patricia Forsythe (to 31 December 2016)
There is one vacancy for a member appointed by the Minister

Appointed Members – Council

Ms Elizabeth Crouch – Deputy Chancellor (to 31 December 2016)
Mr Brendan Crotty – Graduate (to 31 August 2017)
Mr Chum Darvall AM – Graduate (to 31 December 2016)
Mr John Wigglesworth – Graduate (to 28 February 2019)
Mr Frank Zipfinger – Graduate (to 28 February 2019)
Mr Gregory Jones (to 31 December 2016)
The Hon. Sandra Nori (to 31 December 2016)
Ms Jingmin Qian (to 28 February 2019)
Ms Deborah Hadwen (to 31 December 2020)

Elected Members

Professor Catherine Dean – Academic Staff (to 31 December 2017)
Professor Richie Howitt – Academic Staff (to 31 December 2017)
Professor Deb Kane – Academic Staff (to 31 December 2017)
Ms Leanne Denby – Professional Staff (to 31 December 2016)
Mr Kieren Ash – Undergraduate Student (to 31 May 2017)

Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Audit and Risk Committee

Chair – Mr John Wigglesworth

Finance and Facilities Committee

Chair – Ms Elizabeth Crouch, Deputy Chancellor

Student Experience Committee

Chair – Ms Elizabeth Crouch, Deputy Chancellor

Honorary Awards Committee

Chair – The Hon. Michael Egan AO, Chancellor

Nominations and Remunerations Committee

Chair – The Hon. Michael Egan AO, Chancellor

Copyright © 2016 – 2017 Macquarie University CRICOS Provider Number 00002J.