Professor Richard G. Larkins

Chancellor of La Trobe University

Professor Richard Larkins AO has been named as the seventh Chancellor of La Trobe University.

An endocrinologist who obtained a PhD from the University of London, Professor Larkins has previously served as Vice-Chancellor of Monash University and Dean of Medicine at the University of Melbourne.

During his career, he has served as Chair of Universities Australia and the National Health and Medical Research Council. He was also President of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and a member of the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council.

In 2002 Professor Larkins was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for his service to medicine and health; as an advocate for increased investment in research, as a contributor to health policy reform, and as an initiator of innovative medical programs and the provision of training opportunities for medical officers in the Oceania region. In the same year he was awarded the University of Melbourne Sir William Upjohn Medal for distinguished services to medicine in Australia.

La Trobe University was established in 1964 and has grown into one of Australia’s leading universities, with more than 36,000 students. La Trobe has built an international reputation for excellence, being ranked among the top 200 most international universities in the world*.

The University currently hosts more than 7,000 international students from 110 countries and approximately 2,600 international students complete a degree at the University each year.

La Trobe’s researchers work in some of the world’s best facilities, with the University investing more than A$500 million in new world-class centres of learning and research, including its A$288 million Centre for Agribioscience (AgriBio), and its A$94 million La Trobe Institute for Molecular Science (LIMS).


The University offers a range of undergraduate and postgraduate degrees with a focus on high quality learning, teaching and student experience; a commitment to employment outcomes; and innovative research.

La Trobe offers courses in areas including:

  • accounting and financial management
  • business and marketing
  • management and administration
  • science, IT and computer science
  • engineering
  • humanities and social sciences
  • education
  • health sciences
  • law

La Trobe University logo


Ranked amongst the top 200 most international universities
(2016 Times Higher Education World University Rankings).


for Maths and Computer Science (CWTS Leiden Ranking 2015).


in new world-class centres of learning and research.


in history, sociology and communication and media studies
(QS Top Universities rankings 2015).

For more details visit our Courses and Degrees opens-in-a-new-window page.


La Trobe has eight campuses across Victoria and New South Wales, and is the largest provider of university education in regional Victoria. La Trobe’s largest campus is located in Bundoora, just 14km from Melbourne’s city centre, which is consistently ranked as the world’s most liveable city.

La Trobe is an international university, with strong links to a number of overseas partner institutions. All local and international students are encouraged to broaden their experience by studying overseas at one of our international exchange partners.


La Trobe offers a range of scholarships for international students for both coursework and research programs. For more details about scholarships offered at La Trobe, visit our Scholarships opens-in-a-new-window page.

La Trobe University is the choice for intelligent committed people who want to make a difference to the world. Graduates of La Trobe are renowned for their employability, for their deep understanding of the most pressing challenges facing the global community, and for their ability to address those challenges intelligently and decisively.

*Times Higher Education World University Rankings

To find out more, visit the La Trobe University website opens-in-a-new-window

La Trobe University Council

The role of the Council, as per the La Trobe University Act 2009 (VIC) opens-in-a-new-window, is to:

  1. Appoint and monitor the performance of the Vice-Chancellor.
  2. Approve the mission and strategic direction, annual budget and business plan.
  3. Oversee and review management and performance.
  4. Establish policy consistent with legal requirements and community expectations.
  5. Monitor accountability.
  6. Monitor risk.
  7. Oversee and monitor academic activity.
  8. Approve significant University commercial activities.

Membership of La Trobe University’s Council is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Professor Richard Larkins AO – Chancellor
Professor John Dewar – Vice-Chancellor
Professor Christine Bigby – Chair of Academic Board

Appointed Members – Ministerial

Professor Marilyn Anderson AO

Appointed Members – Governor-in-Council

Mr Andrew Eddy – Deputy Chancellor
Ms Deborah Radford
Ms Yvonne von Hartel AM

Appointed Members – Council

Mr Bill Kelty AC
Mr Peter McDonald
Dr Philip Moors AO – Deputy Chancellor
Ms Jennifer Williams

Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Academic Board

Chair – Professor Christine Bigby

Corporate Governance, Audit and Risk Committee

Chair – Ms Jennifer Williams

Human Resources Committee

Chair – Mr Andrew Eddy, Deputy Chancellor

Finance and Resources Committee

Chair – Mr Peter McDonald

Infrastructure and Estates Committee

Chair – Dr Philip Moors AO, Deputy Chancellor

Foundation Committee

Chair – Ms Deborah Radford

Copyright © 2016 – 2017 La Trobe University.