Deakin University Chancellor John Stanhope

Mr John Stanhope AM

Chancellor of Deakin University

Mr John Stanhope AM has extensive experience in governance, finance, accounting and business strategy. He was Chief Financial Officer and Group Managing Director, Finance and Administration with Telstra Corporation Limited from 2003 to 2011 and was an Executive Director of the corporation from 2009 to 2011.

From 2006 until 2012 John was a member of the Finance Reporting Council, the peak body responsible for overseeing the effectiveness of the financial reporting framework in Australia and remains involved in corporate reporting improvements.

John has held numerous company directorships and is a Director of AGL Energy Limited since 2009 and Our Neighbourhood Trust. He was appointed Chairman of Australia Post in 2012 and Chairman of the Bionics Institute in 2015, having been a Director since 2012. John was appointed Chairman of the Port of Melbourne in November 2016.

John has undertaken studies at Deakin University and Stanford University. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors, CPA Australia, the Institute of Chartered Accountants, the Institute of Managers and Leaders and the Human Resources Management Institute. He is currently the Chair of the Melbourne International Jazz Festival (MIJF) and has been a Director of the MIJF since 2010.

In 2014 John was awarded a Deakin Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2016 he was made a member (AM) of the Order of Australia for significant service to the financial and national communication sectors through a range of leadership roles.



Established in 1974, Deakin University was the first university in regional Victoria and the first to specialise in distance education.

Deakin has five campuses: one in Melbourne’s eastern suburbs, two in the port city of Geelong, one in Warrnambool on the southwest coast of Victoria, and Deakin’s fifth, and fastest growing campus is in the cloud (online). Deakin also has a corporate centre in the Melbourne CBD, learning centres across outer-metropolitan Melbourne and international offices in South-Asia, China, Indonesia, Sri Lanka and for over twenty years, in India.

Deakin’s four faculties offer a comprehensive range of courses across the arts, science, sport, nutrition, architecture, business, law, medicine, optometry, engineering, nursing, allied health, psychology and teaching. With over 54,000 students, Deakin is Australia’s 7th largest university. Almost a quarter of Deakin’s students study wholly in the cloud and all students benefit from Deakin’s technology-rich environment.

Through its strategic agenda LIVE the future opens-in-a-new-window, Deakin aims to build the jobs of the future, using the opportunities of the digital age to widen access to education and make a difference to the communities it serves.

Deakin continues to be a sector leader for graduate satisfaction. For seven consecutive years, Deakin has ranked first in Victoria for graduate satisfaction in the Australian Graduate Student Survey.

Deakin University logo



Enabling students for jobs of the future.


To the communities we serve through research.


As well as our staff, our alumni and our friends.

Deakin is now in the top 2% of the world’s universities in each of the three major international rankings: Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU), Times Higher Education and QS World University Rankings.

Deakin was awarded a 5-star rating by the prestigious university ranking organisation Quacquarelli Symonds (QS); the rating indicates Deakin is world-class in a broad range of areas, has cutting-edge facilities and is internationally renowned for its research and teaching.

Deakin University was named Education and Training Provider of the Year in the 2014, 2015 and 2016 Governor of Victoria Export Awards.

In the 2015 Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) ranking, 89% of Deakin’s research was rated at or above world standard. Five of Deakin’s researchers were included in the Thomson Reuters annual listing of researchers most cited in academic journals, ranked in the top one per cent of researchers in their field.

In 2016 Deakin was awarded the ‘Employer of Choice for Gender Equality’ citation by the Workplace Gender Equality Agency (WGEA) for the tenth year in a row.

Deakin has an inclusive and vibrant culture, and is proud of the diversity of its community. The term ‘worldly’ is embedded in Deakin’s logo and reflected in its actions.

The following characteristics have defined the Deakin character throughout its history:

  • a focus on regional Victoria and creating a university for the Geelong region
  • a commitment to research that will make a difference to the communities Deakin serves
  • a deep commitment to equity – to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students, students from diverse backgrounds and mature age students
  • a long standing commitment to being flexible, accessible and friendly.

To find out more, visit the Deakin University website opens-in-a-new-window


All images owned by Deakin University and approved for use on this website.

Deakin University Council

The primary responsibilities of the Council are set down in the Deakin University Act 2009 (VIC) opens-in-a-new-window and include:

  • appointing and monitoring the performance of the Vice-Chancellor as chief executive officer of the University
  • approving the mission and strategic direction of the University and its annual budget and business plan
  • overseeing and reviewing the management of the University and its performance
  • establishing policy and procedural principles for the operation of the University consistent with legal requirements and community expectations
  • overseeing and monitoring the assessment and management of risk across the University
  • overseeing and monitoring the academic activities of the University
  • approving significant commercial activities and systems of control and accountability.

Membership of Deakin University’s Council opens-in-a-new-window is as follows:

Ex-Officio Members

Mr John Stanhope AM – Chancellor (to 31 December 2020)
Professor Jane den Hollander AO – Vice-Chancellor
Professor Chris Hickey – Chair of Academic Board (to 31 December 2020)

Appointed Members – Ministerial

Ms Carol Boyer-Spooner (to 31 December 2018)

Appointed Members – Governor-in-Council

Ms Miranda Douglas-Crane (to 31 December 2018)
Dr Simon Eassom (to 31 December 2018)
Mr Peter Niblett (to 31 December 2017)
Dr Lyn Roberts AO (to 31 December 2017)

Appointed Members – Council

Ms Helene Bender OAM (to 31 December 2018)
Ms Kathy Grigg – Deputy Chancellor (to 31 December 2019)
Mr Stuart Hamilton AO (to 31 December 2018)
Ms Philippa Kelly (to 31 December 2020)
Mr Peter Meehan – Deputy Chancellor (to 31 December 2018)

Elected Members

Ms Dana Harding – Student member (to 31 December 2017)
Mrs Alice Di Pasquale – Staff member (to 31 December 2020)

Other Governing Bodies

Other Governing bodies within the University include:

Academic Board

Chair – Professor Chris Hickey

Audit and Risk Committee

Chair – Mr Peter Meehan, Deputy Chancellor

Chancellor’s Advisory Committee

Chair – Mr John Stanhope AM, Chancellor

Finance and Business Affairs Committee

Chair – Ms Philippa Kelly

Honorary Degrees Committee

Chair – Mr John Stanhope AM, Chancellor

Investment Committee

Chair – Ms Kathy Grigg, Deputy Chancellor

Legislation Committee

Chair – Professor Jenni Lightowlers

Remuneration Committee

Chair – Mr John Stanhope AM, Chancellor

© Copyright Deakin University 2016 – 2017. Deakin University CRICOS Provider Code 00113B.